+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Diablo tuning

  1. #1
    DRTC Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Texas
    Posts
    8

    Default Diablo tuning

    Can anyone do custom tunes with Diablo software or do I have to buy a SCT? I already have a predator on my truck.

    2nd question is if I even need a custom tune.... I’m cutting the cats off since they’re clogged and burning up O2 sensors. Motor is completely stock but it will have ported heads/intake and a comp cam installed before the end of the year. I’m just looking to delete both after cat O2 sensors for now (if that’s even an option)

    If doing this with a Diablo isn’t possible, let me know what tuner/software I need to buy!

  2. #2

    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Greenwich, CT
    Posts
    527

    Default

    diablo doesnt work on these trucks. sct is like old technology. go with hptuners its the most advanced setup. you can tune with it, log with it, and even connect it with the wideband and have all the data come up on the same graphs and charts. just switched my tune from sct to hptuners in the past few days actually and have been able to fix driveability issues that ive had on my truck for years that i thought were basically unfixable issues that come with big cams and other mods.

    K&N Gen 2
    F&B 55x52mm
    M1 4bbl ported
    SCT/Hemifever
    Crower 1.7s
    PPH Headers
    2½ Magnaflow xpipe/mufflers
    Accel Cap/Rotor/Coil
    Brembos & Hawks
    MSD 8.5mm Wires
    NGK 4291s
    Meziere 170º stat
    224/230 536/544 110+4
    ShadyDell Stage 3 Eddys
    Crower Lifters
    Hotchkis/Bilstien
    4.56's/Detroit TruTrac
    MSaine 46re
    Viper 3600 stall
    Eagle F1 235/50f
    MT 305/45r

    345hp & 350ft-lbs SAE
    12.7@108mph

  3. #3
    DRTC Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    Quinton, VA
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Siciliano15 View Post
    diablo doesnt work on these trucks. sct is like old technology. go with hptuners its the most advanced setup. you can tune with it, log with it, and even connect it with the wideband and have all the data come up on the same graphs and charts. just switched my tune from sct to hptuners in the past few days actually and have been able to fix driveability issues that ive had on my truck for years that i thought were basically unfixable issues that come with big cams and other mods.
    For us newbies, could you list what we need from Hptuners, maybe same pictures and part numbers.

  4. #4

    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Greenwich, CT
    Posts
    527

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by musky mike View Post
    For us newbies, could you list what we need from Hptuners, maybe same pictures and part numbers.
    Here is a link to the hptuners device you need. i did the regular version not the pro. you also need 1 credit for our trucks so the total cost is $349 for that
    https://www.hptuners.com/mpvi2/#custom_form_mpvi2

    then i got this innovate lm2 for the wideband portion of data logging.
    https://www.summitracing.com/parts/i...content=GSAPI1

    then u need this serial port cable
    https://www.innovatemotorsports.com/...ategory_id=271

    lastly if your laptop doesnt have a serial port you need this serial to usb adapter cable
    https://www.innovatemotorsports.com/...-p-n-3733.html

    It all adds up this stuff amounts to around $700 all together but if you plan on doing lots of tuning now and in the future its well worth it. For Charlie though he can probably skip all the innovate stuff for now until he gets more heavy mods and just stick to the hptuners stuff which will be enough till then.

    K&N Gen 2
    F&B 55x52mm
    M1 4bbl ported
    SCT/Hemifever
    Crower 1.7s
    PPH Headers
    2½ Magnaflow xpipe/mufflers
    Accel Cap/Rotor/Coil
    Brembos & Hawks
    MSD 8.5mm Wires
    NGK 4291s
    Meziere 170º stat
    224/230 536/544 110+4
    ShadyDell Stage 3 Eddys
    Crower Lifters
    Hotchkis/Bilstien
    4.56's/Detroit TruTrac
    MSaine 46re
    Viper 3600 stall
    Eagle F1 235/50f
    MT 305/45r

    345hp & 350ft-lbs SAE
    12.7@108mph

  5. #5
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    wapato, wa
    Posts
    6,756

    Default

    You can delete the cats, but the 2 precat O2s must be in the collectors if you’re going with headers, the post cat O2 can usually hang on the frame but it has to be plugged in, or like on my truck I’m running an O2 Simm, I don’t know who you plan on tuning it, but FRP is dropping diablosport and he doesn’t do predator, I wanted him to tune my Jeep, you will need an SCT or HP, and yes, I would get it tuned after a cam swap and set the fuel sync ! Do your research

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Siciliano15 View Post
    https://www.innovatemotorsports.com/...-p-n-3733.html

    It all adds up this stuff amounts to around $700 all together but if you plan on doing lots of tuning now and in the future its well worth it. For Charlie though he can probably skip all the innovate stuff for now until he gets more heavy mods and just stick to the hptuners stuff which will be enough till then.
    Did you already have the LM2? I have one, but thinking of going with the HP Pro and letting it do the Wideband datalogging.
    Mike Williams
    #001

    98 DA RC GrapeJuice
    99 BLK CC (Buy Back)
    00 BLK RC ProCharged -Hotchkis - on and on (Sold)
    01 AF CC (Leased - Turned in)

  7. #7
    DRTC Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Texas
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blackknight View Post
    You can delete the cats, but the 2 precat O2s must be in the collectors if you’re going with headers, the post cat O2 can usually hang on the frame but it has to be plugged in, or like on my truck I’m running an O2 Simm, I don’t know who you plan on tuning it, but FRP is dropping diablosport and he doesn’t do predator, I wanted him to tune my Jeep, you will need an SCT or HP, and yes, I would get it tuned after a cam swap and set the fuel sync ! Do your research
    My plan was to keep the pre-cat O2 sensors and hopefully delete the rear sensors with the proper tune. I’ve seen other makers do it (GM/ Ford) but haven’t found anyone who can help me with my R/T. For now I may just leave all the sensors in and remove the cats. Thanks for the info!

  8. #8
    DRTC Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Texas
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Siciliano15 View Post
    Here is a link to the hptuners device you need. i did the regular version not the pro. you also need 1 credit for our trucks so the total cost is $349 for that
    https://www.hptuners.com/mpvi2/#custom_form_mpvi2

    then i got this innovate lm2 for the wideband portion of data logging.
    https://www.summitracing.com/parts/i...content=GSAPI1

    then u need this serial port cable
    https://www.innovatemotorsports.com/...ategory_id=271

    lastly if your laptop doesnt have a serial port you need this serial to usb adapter cable
    https://www.innovatemotorsports.com/...-p-n-3733.html

    It all adds up this stuff amounts to around $700 all together but if you plan on doing lots of tuning now and in the future its well worth it. For Charlie though he can probably skip all the innovate stuff for now until he gets more heavy mods and just stick to the hptuners stuff which will be enough till then.
    This will be the exact parts I order once I receive my heads/cam from PIE. Thank you for the info

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •