+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: SCT X3 datalog

  1. #1
    DRTC Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    Quinton, VA
    Posts
    101

    Default SCT X3 datalog

    Hello,

    I just purchased a R/T and it came with a SCT X3. I went to the SCT website and went 4 pages on the forum here, but I couldn't find how to datalog and if I can catalog, how do I read it. I would like to read water temp and oil pressure, either off the SCT tuner or downloaded to a computer. Is that possible?

  2. #2


    99dart's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Washington...the hot side!
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Scroll down the page to "Flying Ryan Performance". He has a lot of good info on his page. Oh, and welcome to the page!
    99 DA CC R/T
    13.97@100 w/modded kegger & ported TB
    12.96 @103 new 365 C.I (guessatune
    http://imgur.com/a/lOVuZ

  3. #3

    KicknAsphlt's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    1,809

    Default

    I don't think you can datalog anything with SCT, the handheld is just for flashing the program. Your best bet is to get one of those cheap little OBD-bluetooth dongles and use that to datalog to Torque (Android app) or something equivalent for PC/Mac or iOS. I have the dongle and can read both of those with the Torque app, among other parameters.
    - Justin


    '00 BW CC R/T
    '91 Graphite Turbo Targa Supra

    F-Quick Myspace Facebook

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KicknAsphlt View Post
    Your best bet is to get one of those cheap little OBD-bluetooth dongles and use that to datalog to Torque (Android app) .
    While this will give you quite a bit of information via OBDII port, the most important issue is going to be A/F, the stock O2 sensors won't cut it. You need something like an Innovate LM2 Wide band Air/Fuel meter/datalogger.

    Dumping the SCT and getting HPtuners probably easier with less headaches.
    Mike Williams
    #001

    98 DA RC GrapeJuice
    99 BLK CC (Buy Back)
    00 BLK RC ProCharged -Hotchkis - on and on (Sold)
    01 AF CC (Leased - Turned in)

  5. #5
    DRTC Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    Quinton, VA
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by evilrt View Post
    While this will give you quite a bit of information via OBDII port, the most important issue is going to be A/F, the stock O2 sensors won't cut it. You need something like an Innovate LM2 Wide band Air/Fuel meter/datalogger.

    Dumping the SCT and getting HPtuners probably easier with less headaches.
    Right know I have SpinTech duals with cats and the 4 stock O2 sensors (new ones). How do I do it if I go to wide bands, I would like to keep my exhaust the way it is. Can I just replace the 2 up stream O2s with the wide band O2s and leave the down streams alone?

  6. #6
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    wapato, wa
    Posts
    6,756

    Default

    Just have a bung welded about 12” behind the collector O2, and you can tap your lm2, or wide band in there, most of us have only done the bank 2 (passenger side )

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by musky mike View Post
    Right know I have SpinTech duals with cats and the 4 stock O2 sensors (new ones). How do I do it if I go to wide bands, I would like to keep my exhaust the way it is. Can I just replace the 2 up stream O2s with the wide band O2s and leave the down streams alone?
    My Spintecs complete exhaust had an unused bung already welded in. I used that.
    As I bought the truck used with the Spintecs already on there, I don't know if he put the bung in or they came that way.

  8. #8

    9t9-5.2's Avatar
    Home School Valedictorian

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,229

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by musky mike View Post
    Right know I have SpinTech duals with cats and the 4 stock O2 sensors (new ones). How do I do it if I go to wide bands, I would like to keep my exhaust the way it is. Can I just replace the 2 up stream O2s with the wide band O2s and leave the down streams alone?
    FYI, the two upstream O2's are required for the vehicle to run properly. The downstream are check sensors, confirms the cats are doing their job.

    "Excuse me if I have some place in my mind, where I go time to time"

  9. #9
    DRTC Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    Quinton, VA
    Posts
    101

    Default

    I have the LiveWire software and cable to data-log with the SCT. Anyone who has datalog with this setup before, what did you data-log?
    Last edited by musky mike; 03-20-2021 at 01:03 AM.

  10. #10
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    wapato, wa
    Posts
    6,756

    Default

    I have an lm2 that I’m no longer using

  11. #11

    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Greenwich, CT
    Posts
    527

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by evilrt View Post
    While this will give you quite a bit of information via OBDII port, the most important issue is going to be A/F, the stock O2 sensors won't cut it. You need something like an Innovate LM2 Wide band Air/Fuel meter/datalogger.

    Dumping the SCT and getting HPtuners probably easier with less headaches.
    Def agree here, with the SCT you are at the mercy of the tuner & no matter how good he is, its not his truck and hes not going to look into every last fine detail like you would on your own truck. In the past few days I copied my SCT tune, put the truck back to stock, and reloaded it with HPTuners and made a bunch of datalogs with it and the lm2 connected through the serial port and the truck drives night and day better than before.

    K&N Gen 2
    F&B 55x52mm
    M1 4bbl ported
    SCT/Hemifever
    Crower 1.7s
    PPH Headers
    2½ Magnaflow xpipe/mufflers
    Accel Cap/Rotor/Coil
    Brembos & Hawks
    MSD 8.5mm Wires
    NGK 4291s
    Meziere 170º stat
    224/230 536/544 110+4
    ShadyDell Stage 3 Eddys
    Crower Lifters
    Hotchkis/Bilstien
    4.56's/Detroit TruTrac
    MSaine 46re
    Viper 3600 stall
    Eagle F1 235/50f
    MT 305/45r

    345hp & 350ft-lbs SAE
    12.7@108mph

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Siciliano15 View Post
    Def agree here, with the SCT you are at the mercy of the tuner & no matter how good he is, its not his truck and hes not going to look into every last fine detail like you would on your own truck. In the past few days I copied my SCT tune, put the truck back to stock, and reloaded it with HPTuners and made a bunch of datalogs with it and the lm2 connected through the serial port and the truck drives night and day better than before.
    this is good to know. I haven't seen much feedback from HPTuner users and our trucks. Are you saying you copied the SCT tune to HPTuners before you put it back to stock with SCT ? What year is your truck ?
    1941 Dodge 1/2 ton, 493 twin turbo, EFI, 727, 4 wheel disc brakes, custom triangulated 4 link, DANA 60, Gleason Torsen diff,

    2002 Dakota R/T RC, PX8, PPH Headers, MBRP exhaust, K&N FIPK, Hotchkis TVS, 20" R/T chrome rims, BFG G-Force T/A KDW 275/35 ZR20 tires, Kenwood head unit, Kenwood speakers, RF amp, 8" RF Punch Z subs

  13. #13

    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Greenwich, CT
    Posts
    527

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wedged View Post
    this is good to know. I haven't seen much feedback from HPTuner users and our trucks. Are you saying you copied the SCT tune to HPTuners before you put it back to stock with SCT ? What year is your truck ?
    Yea I read the truck when it was sct tuned with the hptuners. Then put truck back to stock with the sct. Then wrote the tune back to the performance one with the hptuners. This way I can use the sct on a different vehicle or sell it.

    My Dakota is an '02 that I did this on. I also tuned my '96 jeep 5.2 with hptuners too. I believe '96 is the first year that can be tuned.

    K&N Gen 2
    F&B 55x52mm
    M1 4bbl ported
    SCT/Hemifever
    Crower 1.7s
    PPH Headers
    2½ Magnaflow xpipe/mufflers
    Accel Cap/Rotor/Coil
    Brembos & Hawks
    MSD 8.5mm Wires
    NGK 4291s
    Meziere 170º stat
    224/230 536/544 110+4
    ShadyDell Stage 3 Eddys
    Crower Lifters
    Hotchkis/Bilstien
    4.56's/Detroit TruTrac
    MSaine 46re
    Viper 3600 stall
    Eagle F1 235/50f
    MT 305/45r

    345hp & 350ft-lbs SAE
    12.7@108mph

  14. #14

    Default

    I've heard SCT tune are sometimes encrypted, but it sounds like yours was not.
    1941 Dodge 1/2 ton, 493 twin turbo, EFI, 727, 4 wheel disc brakes, custom triangulated 4 link, DANA 60, Gleason Torsen diff,

    2002 Dakota R/T RC, PX8, PPH Headers, MBRP exhaust, K&N FIPK, Hotchkis TVS, 20" R/T chrome rims, BFG G-Force T/A KDW 275/35 ZR20 tires, Kenwood head unit, Kenwood speakers, RF amp, 8" RF Punch Z subs

  15. #15
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    wapato, wa
    Posts
    6,756

    Default

    My 3rd or 4th revision burnt my pcm up

  16. #16

    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Greenwich, CT
    Posts
    527

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wedged View Post
    I've heard SCT tune are sometimes encrypted, but it sounds like yours was not.
    yea but im not sure if it would matter when reading with a different system or not so if its encrypted by sct, maybe hpt could still read it. not sure.

    K&N Gen 2
    F&B 55x52mm
    M1 4bbl ported
    SCT/Hemifever
    Crower 1.7s
    PPH Headers
    2½ Magnaflow xpipe/mufflers
    Accel Cap/Rotor/Coil
    Brembos & Hawks
    MSD 8.5mm Wires
    NGK 4291s
    Meziere 170º stat
    224/230 536/544 110+4
    ShadyDell Stage 3 Eddys
    Crower Lifters
    Hotchkis/Bilstien
    4.56's/Detroit TruTrac
    MSaine 46re
    Viper 3600 stall
    Eagle F1 235/50f
    MT 305/45r

    345hp & 350ft-lbs SAE
    12.7@108mph

  17. #17

    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Greenwich, CT
    Posts
    527

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blackknight View Post
    My 3rd or 4th revision burnt my pcm up
    with SCT or HPT? did you have a weak battery by any chance?

    K&N Gen 2
    F&B 55x52mm
    M1 4bbl ported
    SCT/Hemifever
    Crower 1.7s
    PPH Headers
    2½ Magnaflow xpipe/mufflers
    Accel Cap/Rotor/Coil
    Brembos & Hawks
    MSD 8.5mm Wires
    NGK 4291s
    Meziere 170º stat
    224/230 536/544 110+4
    ShadyDell Stage 3 Eddys
    Crower Lifters
    Hotchkis/Bilstien
    4.56's/Detroit TruTrac
    MSaine 46re
    Viper 3600 stall
    Eagle F1 235/50f
    MT 305/45r

    345hp & 350ft-lbs SAE
    12.7@108mph

  18. #18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Siciliano15 View Post
    yea but im not sure if it would matter when reading with a different system or not so if its encrypted by sct, maybe hpt could still read it. not sure.
    It's not done by SCT by default. The tuner has the option to encrypt their own tunes so they can't be stolen or copied.
    1941 Dodge 1/2 ton, 493 twin turbo, EFI, 727, 4 wheel disc brakes, custom triangulated 4 link, DANA 60, Gleason Torsen diff,

    2002 Dakota R/T RC, PX8, PPH Headers, MBRP exhaust, K&N FIPK, Hotchkis TVS, 20" R/T chrome rims, BFG G-Force T/A KDW 275/35 ZR20 tires, Kenwood head unit, Kenwood speakers, RF amp, 8" RF Punch Z subs

  19. #19
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    wapato, wa
    Posts
    6,756

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Siciliano15 View Post
    with SCT or HPT? did you have a weak battery by any chance?
    The sct file came corrupt, no weak battery, I got home, pulled the laptop out, dropped the revision on the tuner and the truck was done , sat for like 2 weeks before I could find a pcm

  20. #20

    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Greenwich, CT
    Posts
    527

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blackknight View Post
    The sct file came corrupt, no weak battery, I got home, pulled the laptop out, dropped the revision on the tuner and the truck was done , sat for like 2 weeks before I could find a pcm
    dam that sucks. probably not easy to find one of these pcms these days by now.

    K&N Gen 2
    F&B 55x52mm
    M1 4bbl ported
    SCT/Hemifever
    Crower 1.7s
    PPH Headers
    2½ Magnaflow xpipe/mufflers
    Accel Cap/Rotor/Coil
    Brembos & Hawks
    MSD 8.5mm Wires
    NGK 4291s
    Meziere 170º stat
    224/230 536/544 110+4
    ShadyDell Stage 3 Eddys
    Crower Lifters
    Hotchkis/Bilstien
    4.56's/Detroit TruTrac
    MSaine 46re
    Viper 3600 stall
    Eagle F1 235/50f
    MT 305/45r

    345hp & 350ft-lbs SAE
    12.7@108mph

  21. #21
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    wapato, wa
    Posts
    6,756

    Default

    It was a while back (7-8 years ago) , but it did take me awhile to find a pcm

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •