+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 75

Thread: Viper Gearbox in a 'kota. in-depth how-to

  1. #26
    2dakotas's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    472

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Filthy Filbert View Post
    Mine was a 2004 viper model, has the solid 1 piece countershaft, 25k miles on the box, and it had a 30 day warranty

    I paid $1350 plus shipping.
    I hope to find a deal like that, when I get the funds to do it.

    Quote Originally Posted by Filthy Filbert View Post
    Here's a great start to a T56 swap!

    http://www.viperalley.com/classified...2&cat=5&page=1
    And there is the deal, just no money

    2012 Grand Cherokee Limited Wife's car - 4X4, Hemi
    2003 Dakota RT RC, Hughes intake and throttle body, D1SC Procharger, 5-speed
    2009 Challenger RT, 6-speed, sportlines, x-pipe, Dynatech mufflers.

  2. #27
    dakrt23's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    1,540

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Filthy Filbert View Post
    $1,000 transmission
    $550 bell
    $500 flywheel
    $300 clutch
    $100 SRT-10 slave/TO bearing... You could do it got under 3 grand!
    you forgot pedals/steering column/center console for us auto guys, new pcm, tuning, nuts and bolts can add up, and misc small parts. IMO its still a 4k swap.
    HI. I like beer, burnouts, and boobies...


  3. #28

    I like free kittens

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Marysville O-H-I-O
    Posts
    7,072

    Default

    Junk yard parts that I bet Chas could hook you up with for less than $500 for everything, and I think at least 1, if not all the SCT guys have figured out how to turn an Auto PCM into a manual


    Do-eet!! But that viper box!

    Trust me. You WILL love it!

    I can stand on it in 2nd gear and light up the rears, slip the back end out while going around a curve with my 4.56 gears, yet still cruise the highway at 75 mph at 2100 rpm!!
    --Tom
    **Photobucket can suck my nut**

    I'm a douchebag

  4. #29

    Default

    Hi Tom
    I am following the swap and doing my own. I ordered the Quicktime bellhousing 8077 which fits a small block Chrysler bolt pattern but has the starter motor on the passenger side of the motor!

  5. #30

    Default

    I think the proper Quick time number is RM 8074 which is a small block dodge to a T56 Viper transmission.

  6. #31

    I like free kittens

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Marysville O-H-I-O
    Posts
    7,072

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CanadianDakota View Post
    I think the proper Quick time number is RM 8074 which is a small block dodge to a T56 Viper transmission.
    Yes, that is the right one. the other one is for the small block hemi (5.7, 6.1)

    --Tom
    **Photobucket can suck my nut**

    I'm a douchebag

  7. #32

    I like free kittens

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Marysville O-H-I-O
    Posts
    7,072

    Default

    crap.

    I have the wrong number in my first post. Sorry I missed that. Must have verified the wrong number when I typed the thread up originally. Hope that doesn't cost you any money! sorry for the bad info.
    --Tom
    **Photobucket can suck my nut**

    I'm a douchebag

  8. #33

    BluRT00's Avatar
    Muscle Of Love

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL
    Posts
    6,197

    Default

    Love this write up Tom! I'm leaning really strong to doing this to my RC R/T.

  9. #34

    I like free kittens

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Marysville O-H-I-O
    Posts
    7,072

    Default

    Give Geoff a call! He now offers pre-modified bells, they come already notched for the CPS, so the install is one step easier!
    --Tom
    **Photobucket can suck my nut**

    I'm a douchebag

  10. #35

    BluRT00's Avatar
    Muscle Of Love

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL
    Posts
    6,197

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Filthy Filbert View Post
    Give Geoff a call! He now offers pre-modified bells, they come already notched for the CPS, so the install is one step easier!
    Wish I could right now, but still finishing the cc. After that the rc gets some more love.

  11. #36
    Sick 660r's Avatar
    gen III traitor

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    5,445

    Default

    To add some confusion...

    Here is a mclode rxt twin disk on a STOCK 5.9 flywheel. I believe they charged Huskerrt67 a stupid amount of money to modify a stock flywheel for a twin disk because they said they had nothing that would fit.





    Quote Originally Posted by BluRT00 View Post
    Part your red sport out and buy a gen 2. Problem solved.

  12. #37

    I like free kittens

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Marysville O-H-I-O
    Posts
    7,072

    Default

    Again call Geoff. Jason was running Kesiler shit. 143 tooth flywheel with a cast aluminum non-SFI flywheel. Geoff uses a custom 130 tooth flywheel with an SFI approved steel bell housing.
    --Tom
    **Photobucket can suck my nut**

    I'm a douchebag

  13. #38
    Sick 660r's Avatar
    gen III traitor

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    5,445

    Default

    I know this. I have both a keisler setup and the gerko setup.

    This is the 143 flywheel for the keisler kit.


    Quote Originally Posted by BluRT00 View Post
    Part your red sport out and buy a gen 2. Problem solved.

  14. #39

    I like free kittens

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Marysville O-H-I-O
    Posts
    7,072

    Default

    I know you know. I was more making a comment about Kesiler stuff than anything else. Chances are there's a cheaper dual disc set up that's cheaper and more 'off the shelf'than what Jason had done.

    --for those making serious power but not in the know.
    --Tom
    **Photobucket can suck my nut**

    I'm a douchebag

  15. #40
    Sick 660r's Avatar
    gen III traitor

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    5,445

    Default

    Anyone know where to get individual shims. What I bought does not have what I need.

    OD is about 2.5" and ID is about 2.12"


    Quote Originally Posted by BluRT00 View Post
    Part your red sport out and buy a gen 2. Problem solved.

  16. #41
    Osee's Avatar
    AutoZone Perfomance Parts

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Ethelbert, Manitoba
    Posts
    2,296

    Default

    Holy thread resurrection, Tom can you confirm you used the stock Viper input shaft? Thought it would be good to keep this info in the same thread.


    Mods - TB Spacer, Short Throw Dipstick, Performance Auto Zone Intake "0.30 over bore", R/T Cam, Performance Chip, Radiator Delete

    Rev limiter? that's what valve springs are for!

    Car Build Thread https://www.forabodiesonly.com/mopar...ost-1971625458

  17. #42



    chrgr340's Avatar
    DAKRT56

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Two Harbors, MN
    Posts
    741

    Default

    I used a cut off piece of an input shaft from a Viper trans to align my clutch when I swapped flywheels in my truck, so I would assume Tom's also has a Viper input shaft.

    Steve - 1999 Flame Red RC R/T-56
    Comp Cams | F&B | Mopar | Spintech | SCT | Hotchkis


  18. #43
    Osee's Avatar
    AutoZone Perfomance Parts

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Ethelbert, Manitoba
    Posts
    2,296

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chrgr340 View Post
    I used a cut off piece of an input shaft from a Viper trans to align my clutch when I swapped flywheels in my truck, so I would assume Tom's also has a Viper input shaft.
    The input shaft is a stock unmodified one correct? Because I have an LS1 T56 the input shaft is shorter and only 26 spline not 30. I'll need to swap in a viper one I believe.


    Mods - TB Spacer, Short Throw Dipstick, Performance Auto Zone Intake "0.30 over bore", R/T Cam, Performance Chip, Radiator Delete

    Rev limiter? that's what valve springs are for!

    Car Build Thread https://www.forabodiesonly.com/mopar...ost-1971625458

  19. #44

    I like free kittens

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Marysville O-H-I-O
    Posts
    7,072

    Default

    I'm running the stock viper input shaft which was 26 spline if I recall. It's been awhile since I built my clutch, but I am pretty sure I ordered a 26 spline clutch disc.
    --Tom
    **Photobucket can suck my nut**

    I'm a douchebag

  20. #45
    nitroram33's Avatar
    CAUSEDODGEPATTERNBALDNESS

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Robbinsville, NC
    Posts
    677

    Default

    Input shaft on pretty much every T56 is 26 spline expect for the Fords being 10 spline. Output shafts are 30 spline for the Viper and 27 for GM stuff (don't remember the Ford count on the output, think it's 27 for most of the factory stuff too) and most of the aftermarket ones being 31 spline outputs like the TR6060.

  21. #46
    nitroram33's Avatar
    CAUSEDODGEPATTERNBALDNESS

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Robbinsville, NC
    Posts
    677

    Default

    Found this with a little Google-ing, has gear ratios and spline counts:

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Borg-W...6_transmission

  22. #47
    Osee's Avatar
    AutoZone Perfomance Parts

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Ethelbert, Manitoba
    Posts
    2,296

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nitroram33 View Post
    Input shaft on pretty much every T56 is 26 spline expect for the Fords being 10 spline. Output shafts are 30 spline for the Viper and 27 for GM stuff (don't remember the Ford count on the output, think it's 27 for most of the factory stuff too) and most of the aftermarket ones being 31 spline outputs like the TR6060.
    My bad I forgot it was the outputs were a different count between the two not the inputs, but regardless the input shafts are different lengths, and I'll need to swap to a viper one.


    Mods - TB Spacer, Short Throw Dipstick, Performance Auto Zone Intake "0.30 over bore", R/T Cam, Performance Chip, Radiator Delete

    Rev limiter? that's what valve springs are for!

    Car Build Thread https://www.forabodiesonly.com/mopar...ost-1971625458

  23. #48

    I like free kittens

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Marysville O-H-I-O
    Posts
    7,072

    Default

    No you don't. QuickTime makes a bell for each one.
    --Tom
    **Photobucket can suck my nut**

    I'm a douchebag

  24. #49
    Osee's Avatar
    AutoZone Perfomance Parts

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Ethelbert, Manitoba
    Posts
    2,296

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Filthy Filbert View Post
    No you don't. QuickTime makes a bell for each one.
    There are 2 Quicktime part numbers

    RM-8074 which is for LS1 and Viper T56's and RM-6076 which is for Ford T56's

    Quick Time Bellhousing RM-8074 https://www.holley.com/products/driv.../parts/RM-8074
    Quick Time Bellhousing RM-6076 https://www.holley.com/products/driv.../parts/RM-6076

    Unless it's a typo on their website I will need a new input shaft.


    Mods - TB Spacer, Short Throw Dipstick, Performance Auto Zone Intake "0.30 over bore", R/T Cam, Performance Chip, Radiator Delete

    Rev limiter? that's what valve springs are for!

    Car Build Thread https://www.forabodiesonly.com/mopar...ost-1971625458

  25. #50

    I like free kittens

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Marysville O-H-I-O
    Posts
    7,072

    Default

    I missed it. Do you have a Ford trans?

    Re-read. You have an LS. Why won't the bell for the LS work?
    --Tom
    **Photobucket can suck my nut**

    I'm a douchebag

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •