PDA

View Full Version : Kenne Bell

CNTHOOK
10-02-2009, 07:31 PM
I was thinking of going with nitrous but i just cant make myself do it because its not there all the time and i have made fun of so many nitrous cars and i know i will catch hell, does anybody have any input on a kenne bell blower for these trucks?

grapejuice1998
10-02-2009, 08:14 PM
I was thinking of going with nitrous but i just cant make myself do it because its not there all the time and i have made fun of so many nitrous cars and i know i will catch hell, does anybody have any input on a kenne bell blower for these trucks?

Well, I have had some personal experience with that setup and it would be fine if you could score one super cheap. However, the "optimizer" limits the performance quite a bit and deleting it seems to be a recipe for disaster.

The truck I drove launched hard, but the further it got down the track and the more the optimizer beeped, the slower it got.

Also, if you've ever seen a KB installed, it's quite a plumbing nightmare.

dakfink
10-03-2009, 05:29 AM
I never had any actual hands on with the Kenne Belle.
I have always heard it was a PITA with the (Flop-Timizer)

I think it is a good system just needs to be re-worked and set up correctly.

1: Trash the Optimizer and go with SCT or StandAlone
2: Put an electronic boost controller on it. The darn thing makes 8-10 psi off-idle and holds that all the way through the RPM range .
if you making 8psi at Idle and you holding that all the way through the RPMs then you dumping a lot of pressure over-board.

If I had time and Money. i would find a cheap kit get it in place and fixx all the bugs then look at swapping the Head-Unit for one of the newer models that KB offers.

Jimbarrt
10-03-2009, 05:44 PM
The KB looks like a good choice until you have an issue...KB offers no tech support...finding anybody who wants to deal with their 5.9 apps is not easy...