PDA

View Full Version : Best tuning option for street performance

Jemyt3
10-21-2012, 02:45 PM
I just finished rebuilding my motor in my r\t and I'm now facing the problem in making my ECM run this motor correctly. As of now it runs ok but my redline can be more and shift points could be changed also. I have never built a fuel injected motor before so I'm new to all the electronic stuff. I would like to be able to tune it myself since this truck is mainly built for street racing and not straight line drag, but don't know best way?

Zac_F99
10-21-2012, 02:47 PM
it doesn't come with preloaded tunes... these are designed for custom tuning-

http://www.ebay.com/itm/SCT-9550-XCalibrator-2-Dodge-Chrysler-Programmer-/300787837494?hash=item46085a2a36&item=300787837494&pt=Motors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories&vxp=mtr

Jemyt3
10-21-2012, 02:53 PM
The description for the tuner is a little vague does this change redline and shift points, and do u create your program on that handheld or does it plug into ur laptop to show output graphs etc so u have something to go by?

Zac_F99
10-21-2012, 03:01 PM
The description for the tuner is a little vague does this change redline and shift points, and do u create your program on that handheld or does it plug into ur laptop to show output graphs etc so u have something to go by?most of the tuners change RPM and shift points.. as for the laptop thing not sure... probably best send Sean (hemifever) a PM and see what he says

Jemyt3
10-21-2012, 03:04 PM
Do u have this tuner? If u do do u like it?

Nitrohog
10-21-2012, 03:09 PM
I like mine that's tuned by Sean. hemifevertuning.com. Hes a vendor here and IIRC there's a coupon code here somewhere for $15 off a tuner and tuning.

jmaack727
10-21-2012, 04:01 PM
^ I like mine also.

Jemyt3
10-21-2012, 04:07 PM
Any idea on what a sct and tune would cost me from him?

jmaack727
10-21-2012, 04:09 PM
http://www.hemifevertuning.com/jeep_dodge_chrysler_tuners_s/31.htm

G-Man
10-21-2012, 04:35 PM