PDA

View Full Version : Need help selecting an exhaust system

Bklynblaze
07-03-2008, 01:22 PM
What's up guys? Love the site. I've picked up some good information reading through your threads. I am new to R/T's and can use your help. I just purchased a 1998 Flame Red Dodge Dakota R/T and I want to eventually within the next few months get a dual exhaust system for it. I'm looking for a system that has a nice tone to it but not to obnoxious that it wakes the neighbors. The muffler right now has a decent sound to it (stock I think) but I just want something that's alittle more powerful. Thanks for your help guys! :)

Btw, I love my 98 R/T and look forward to getting many years out of it. I now know what the big rave is about this truck!

KicknAsphlt
07-03-2008, 03:09 PM
Spintech and Magnaflow are about the only ones that I know of that make a dual exhaust for our trucks, and Spintech is the better of the two....that's if Magnaflow even makes theirs anymore(I don't think it was a true dual anyway). The Spintech Mufflers, however, will probably piss off your neighbors. So you can either get your muffler of choice and fab your own exhaust, or get the Spintech setup and buy different mufflers for it....then sell the Spintech mufflers to help recuperate some cost. Magnaflows have a pretty good tone to them, and the Hooker Aerochambers sound great as well. Not too loud until you romp on it.

Bklynblaze
07-03-2008, 03:23 PM
Thanks...I guess I'll avoid the Spintechs then. I was looking at the Magnaflow Dual Exhaust for the 98 RT 5.9L at their site. Does anyone happen to have this exhaust system and if so what are your thoughts? To loud, to low? Thanks again.

SB440R/T
07-03-2008, 03:29 PM
I think you would actually like the spintech system, I think you can buy it without mufflers. I think Rick on here sells the system. I just had my mufflers switched out for the magnaflows on the spintech system and I love it.

Bklynblaze
07-03-2008, 03:37 PM