PDA

View Full Version : engine oil??

bobby99
06-01-2008, 10:52 PM
i am new to the rt and want to change the oil... how many quarts oil does it take and what kind of oil do you guys use??

bad360rt
06-01-2008, 11:06 PM
Mine always took 5 quarts with the stock pan. I was running Mobil1 with the old setup, and will be again after the new motor is finished being broken in with dino oil.

RTdingo7
06-01-2008, 11:38 PM
Mobil1 also and about 5qts. with an oil filter change. :biggthumpup:

TurboBlew
06-02-2008, 01:00 AM
i am new to the rt and want to change the oil... how many quarts oil does it take and what kind of oil do you guys use??

I always buy 6 quarts. Ive been using the larger filters and on level ground it puts the oil level right at the top of the "safe" indicator on the dipstick.
Stock pan too!
With my remote filter setup it took nearly 7 quarts.

Five9Dak
06-03-2008, 04:57 PM
I agree, buy 6 quarts. It will take from 5-5.5 all stock. Put it right to the top of the full idicator. Carry whats left in the truck and check the oil level every other gas stop. If you have a stock truck it may burn oil through the factory intake manifold pan gasket. Keep it topped off.

I use napa 10w30, but a lot of guys run synthetic. I have had good results using dino oil and a 2500 mile interval. When I rebuild the motor then it will be worth it for me to run synthetic from the get go (just my opinion) The truck's motor was initially filled with standard oil, but that doesnt mean that synthetic wouldn't benifit you. It's a cost/logevity/performance argument.

Five9Dak
06-03-2008, 04:59 PM
....double post

scatpackdal
06-03-2008, 08:11 PM
mobil1 is old news... all the fad is to now run the german blend castrol synthetic 0W30, it can be hard to find though. mobil1 is no longer a true synthetic, it's part dino and multiple tests i've seen lend it to not protecting as well as others.

RTdingo7
06-03-2008, 09:16 PM