PDA

View Full Version : M-1 question

jmaack727
03-30-2008, 03:58 PM
I recently bought a used m1 manifold, however the IAT location on the manifold is filled with a brass plug, and the allen head on the inside is completely rounded off. I let it soak with wd40 since yesterday afternoon after noticing this. But how can i get this thing out? I have never done anything like this before, some one else said drill it out a little smaller than the threads in the manifold then peel the brass out, but i dont want to screw the threads on the manifold itself. Thanks

BTLFED R/T
03-30-2008, 04:04 PM
I recently bought a used m1 manifold, however the IAT location on the manifold is filled with a brass plug, and the allen head on the inside is completely rounded off. I let it soak with wd40 since yesterday afternoon after noticing this. But how can i get this thing out? I have never done anything like this before, some one else said drill it out a little smaller than the threads in the manifold then peel the brass out, but i dont want to screw the threads on the manifold itself. Thanks

Alot of guys don't put the IAT back in that port. Most will thread the sensor into their air intake tube. If you don't want to do that, than yes, you'll have to drill it out. I think you could use an Easy Out.

jmaack727
03-30-2008, 04:07 PM
Alot of guys don't put the IAT back in that port. Most will thread the sensor into their air intake tube. If you don't want to do that, than yes, you'll have to drill it out. I think you could use an Easy Out.

I thought about that, i went and bought new plugs and am going to have it coated so i wanted them out. Plus i dont want to drill a hole in my FIPK. So i will try an easy out, i thought about that but didnt know it would work on brass,. THanks!

slvr03dakrt
03-30-2008, 04:08 PM
an easy out should get it done for you

BTLFED R/T
03-30-2008, 05:11 PM